top of page
  • Writer's pictureHailey Glenn

Annual Cherry Blossoms Photoshoot

How many years do you have to do something before you can consider it an "annual thing", today I woke up and decided, two. No rhyme or reason just seemed sufficient. So, I declare, my annual cherry blossom photoshoot. This photoshoot is so fun for me because my photographer asked ME to do it and my photographer is my adorable boyfriend! One of my favorite things about mine and Carsons relationship is how we cannot wait to get creative and inspire each other! It's also a massive plus that with him I feel so relaxed and ready to deliver some fun modeling.


Whether you are a photographer, modeler or someone who wants nothing to do with photography, you will appreciate the beautiful of Salt Lake's capitol hill in the springtime. It can be hard to time it just right but March - May when the Cherry blossoms bloom it is a must-see site. This is my favorite photoshoot location, and the beauty only starts with the trees.

My idea for this photoshoot was to have a contrasting dark outfit to the bright beautiful flowers and allow them to stand out. I choose an all-black 90s inspired outfit with black tights, little black dress and pointed black stilettos. I decided to add a little brightness in my accessories with a pearl white necklace. Last minute I also decided to really dive into the 90s with a men's large grey blazer. Having props and clothing items, like a blazer to play with while taking photos is a great way to look natural but also, I didn't want to get cold lmao!

Salt Lake Capitol building is the best for photoshoot whether its bridals, engagements, family photos or just for fun like us. It is perfect because even beyond the perfectly lined cherry blossom tress and fun park benches, the actual building itself is incredible (as seen above). We took a large portion of our photos both last year and this current photoshoot along the stairs and at the railings.

There is such a large variety of areas to take photos and it is perfect to get creative as a model and photographer. Simply comparing last year to this year, me and my boyfriend aka photographer saw how much we have evolved and the way we were so eager to get creative.



Spring 2022 Cherry Blossoms

The first annual cherry blossom photoshoot at the capitol building in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Let's revisit our last year's photoshoot before we get into the full gallery. This was our first year we took a very obvious but no less beautiful approach. I wore a very whimsical and soft pastel outfit. I choose a puffy sleeve gingham green top to add some texture and pattern play and added a very minimal peach skirt. The outfit complimented the spring nature of the photos very well and the skirt added something to play with and adjust to keep the photos lively and flirtatious.


Spring 2023 Cherry Blossoms

The second annual cherry blossom photoshoot at the capitol building in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Finally, you have waited long enough, the full gallery of our Spring 2023 photoshoot in all its moody, elegance. Many of these photos came so naturally and were completely candid... well as candid as you can be walking around taking photos lmao. But candid in the sense of "Hailey look at me" randomly as we were walking to the next location. We had no intention to get silhouette photos right as the sun was setting but we just so happened to be on the hill and Carson had the vision for it right then. Even as we were all packed up and done my boyfriend saw the warm light against a window and we played around until we got my reflection just right. Although you are constantly surrounded by people at the park, I could completely scape in a moment grabbing just the right shot. I hope you enjoy these photos as much as we do. And come back next year!

Don't forget you can find me on all social media @thegoldmoss and keep up with me right here on the blog with more photoshoots, photo editing, date ideas, fun DIY's and more!

TTYL Hails <3

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page